lichess.org

When Opponent Moves But Doesn't Press Clock

@h2b2 Yes, you're correct. Technically you're not supposed to say check. In practice though, nothing will really happen if you do. Younger players and lower rated players sometimes say check quietly, and it's really not that big of a deal.

H2 how do know? Maybe magnus was the quiet hero, who didn't want a h2b2 case, and when his opponent complained he was" but im not jesus". You can never know what those crazy chessplayers are thinking

How do I know what, Sub? I'm not a mind reader and your father wasn't a glass maker, so don't stand in front of the TV.

It was written about extensively, I only read about it last year, I didn't realise it happened over 2 years ago.

Inarkiev was Carlsen's opponent and he behaved pretty badly. Inarkiev stopped the game and claimed the win (the gall) and was initially awarded the win until it was turned over on appeal, first it was declared a draw, and then it was decided the game should continue, but Inarkiev refused to play on so Calrsen won.

You made the case its bad to claim illegal move, maybe carlsen saw it and just played on

I'm a little confused.

Carlsen put Inarkiev in check, Inarkiev made an illegal move and put Calrsen in check, the articles say Carlsen played on immediately and instinctively and got himself out of check. Inarkiev then stopped the game and claimed Carlsen made an illegal move and he (Inarkiev) should be awarded the win.

The articles say Carlsen didn't notice Inarkiev played an illegal move, so that's how I know.
Also i don't believe I made the case it's bad to claim an illegal move. It was bad for Inarkiev to claim a win because Inarkiev played an illegal move first.

Than i misunderstood. Thought thats what you ment when you compared it to telling someone about the clock

Ah, fair enough, I was just musing on the differences not trying to say something was good or bad. these are just quick throw away lines not carefully worded legal documents, and confusion is my middle name.

At a professional level it is fair to make claims if you think they are within the rules.

If you make an illegal move in blitz, and the opponent doesn't notice, they lose the chance to claim and if your opponent then makes an illegal move you can then claim the win (pretty sure about this but can't be bothered to check right now).

Carlsen lost the right to claim for Inarkiev's initial illegal move when he played a move of his own. But the point of the decision was that Carlsen's move was not illegal (*even though Inarkiev's king was in check, and Carlsen just moved his own king*). The position was illegal (both kings in check) but not the move (if that makes sense), and so Inarkiev's claim failed.

Given the final position was a dead loss for Inarkiev he cannot be blamed for not continuing, once the decision was made to continue the game.

Well in tournaments or competitions, I don't usually say it out loud, but I pretend like I haven't seen the opponent make their move, or I just make it obvious that I'm not going to make a move (sometimes I just stare up at the ceiling or drink water). This usually confuses them, and eventually they'll figure out that they have to press the clock.

Edit: The reason I don't like telling them isn't because I need more time (unless it's some kind of bullet tournament, in which case they probably won't forget), but it's because it could be embarrassing for the other player, and make them flustered, which would ruin their experience at the tournament, and if you just make it obvious that you aren't paying attention and they figure out that they have to press the clock, then it makes it look like the other player knew they had to press the clock and didn't need someone to tell them, so it's less embarrassing.

You can't post in the forums yet. Play some games!

Reconnecting