lichess.org

When Opponent Moves But Doesn't Press Clock

Depends on the mood I'm in, the time left (if I'm low on time and it's a difficult situation, I will gladly think on my opponent's time), and how important the win is for me or our team. It's your opponent's duty to take care of his clock, so you're free to choose whichever way suites you. I've never seen or heard anyone holding something against a player that didn't remind his opponent of pressing the clock. Usually when your opponent keeps on thinking you start to look at the clocks, and then at last you're supposed to notice that it's your clock that is ticking. This has happened to me too and it has never even occurred to me to blame my opponent for not notifying me. Rather I'd just laugh at my mistake.

@bunyip I wish good sportsmanship were an indication of good character, but nowadays calculating people upped their camouflage game i fear. But the real problem with taking advantage of time, its destroys your spiriti. You must always think you are the chess god and your mind decides the outcome of the game and not a freak accident.

And im not sure that mannerism at the chessboard is about ethics. And even if it were, lets say you sleep with my wife and i dont tell you about the clock, am i an unethical person? What if you had a child laborer ring in indonesia and i wont tell you about the clock, am i the unethical one?

I bet all those evil people out ther have the most refined manners one can think of.

It's interesting it's considered good sportsmanship to point to the clock if you opponent forgets to press it (and I have no qualms about that) but when you put your opponent in check you don't have to point it out.

If your opponent doesn't notice and plays an illegal move, touch rule means they might have to block with that piece and lose material.

H2b2 great observation. Maybe you change your name to tony the tiger. But honestly interesting hypocrisy.

It is customary to say "check"..that's sportsmanship.

Does anyone these days use "gardez" (gardez la reine) , or is that just another nicety that has fallen by the wayside?

@h2b2

Yes. It's correct. Both clock and check are your opponents responsibility to notice till it's too late to correct. From the sounds of it @bunyip has never actually played in a USCF or FIDE rated event.

I mean he's trying to argue with a certified TD. What does that tell people? Granted. .. I could be wrong, but I gave opportunity to prove me wrong. The fact of the matter is. It's not ethics that is regarded here. It's personal opinion and what is called "house rules" . it's made up ideas that you don't really have obligation to do.

I read however that handshaking is currently debated. I don't believe handshaking should be forced. But it's still another debate. Either way. No according to the rulebook there is nothing against or for saying check or pointing out the clock. And touch move is still debated. So much so that you should clarify with every event what they consider their interpretation of the rule of intent.

@bunyip I've never played in an OTB tournament but I've heard Ben Finegold say the movies always get chess wrong because they always say check in the movies, and Finegold says you don't in a OTB tournament, no talking is allowed (I don't know if there is a rule that specifically says no talking, but I believe there are rules about disturbing other players).

I've also seen tournaments on youtube and they don't appear to say check or acknowledge check in any way.

It happened recently in a Magnus Carlsen game, I believe Carlsen put his opponent in check and his opponent didn't realise and played an illegal move, Carlsen also lost his brain and didn't notice the illegal move so made another move, there was a lot of confusion going around until it was all sorted out.

I sit and let the opponent's clock run down, of course. Sometimes I'll even pretend to be deep in thought.

Reconnecting