- Blind mode tutorial
lichess.org
Donate

Illegal Castling in the game

https://lichess.org/lyp6lr2d

In this Game black king was able to castle even with White bishop attacking on the way is this a legal move?

https://lichess.org/lyp6lr2d In this Game black king was able to castle even with White bishop attacking on the way is this a legal move?

The bishop was not attacking the king or rook so castling is allowed
It was only blocking b8 a square neither occupied by king or rook

The bishop was not attacking the king or rook so castling is allowed It was only blocking b8 a square neither occupied by king or rook

I think the rule says
You cannot castle if
the king is attacked on the way.
Block the check then castle!

https://lichess.org/learn#/14/7

I think the rule says You cannot castle if the king is attacked on the way. Block the check then castle! https://lichess.org/learn#/14/7

That was a perfectly legal castling.

3.8.2.1 The right to castle has been lost:
3.8.2.2.1 if the square on which the king stands, or the square which it must cross, or the square which it is to occupy, is attacked by one or more of the opponent's pieces, or
https://handbook.fide.com/chapter/E012018

Basically, it's about the squares the king has to cross.

That was a perfectly legal castling. >3.8.2.1 The right to castle has been lost: >3.8.2.2.1 if the square on which the king stands, or the square which it must cross, or the square which it is to occupy, is attacked by one or more of the opponent's pieces, or https://handbook.fide.com/chapter/E012018 Basically, it's about the squares the king has to cross.

Is it so? New information for me too! And I am pro..

Is it so? New information for me too! And I am pro..

The king does not go through b8 when castling, nor does it land on b8 after castling, so it is legal. You can sometimes land a nasty fork trap with this trick!

The king does not go through b8 when castling, nor does it land on b8 after castling, so it is legal. You can sometimes land a nasty fork trap with this trick!

This topic has been archived and can no longer be replied to.