I have a question that has been bothering me for years about chess that I can't get out of my head. I would like to have your opinion. I find all the rules quite logical and harmonious with each other. Even the en passant rule, which is strange for beginners, has a kind of logic to it when you explain it from a historical perspective.
On the other hand, there is one thing that I really, really don't find logical and I'm surprised that no one talks about it. Why can't a king move to a square that is covered by an opponent's pinned piece?
Here is a position illustrating my though. In a perfectly logical World, I think I should be able to play KC4 here. The king cannot be taken in the next move, so technically, it shouldn't be in check ?
The french Federation states that a king is in check when he is "attacked". Then explained there are three option when in check : the king can move, something can block, or something can take the attaquing piece. In my exemple, if my king is on C4 and I do non of those things, my king cannot be captured, so is it in check ?
https://lichess.org/study/MKxrwKlN/3ywYK2lo
I spoke about it with a lot of people and didn't received a convincing response so far.
I have a question that has been bothering me for years about chess that I can't get out of my head. I would like to have your opinion. I find all the rules quite logical and harmonious with each other. Even the en passant rule, which is strange for beginners, has a kind of logic to it when you explain it from a historical perspective.
On the other hand, there is one thing that I really, really don't find logical and I'm surprised that no one talks about it. Why can't a king move to a square that is covered by an opponent's pinned piece?
Here is a position illustrating my though. In a perfectly logical World, I think I should be able to play KC4 here. The king cannot be taken in the next move, so technically, it shouldn't be in check ?
The french Federation states that a king is in check when he is "attacked". Then explained there are three option when in check : the king can move, something can block, or something can take the attaquing piece. In my exemple, if my king is on C4 and I do non of those things, my king cannot be captured, so is it in check ?
https://lichess.org/study/MKxrwKlN/3ywYK2lo
I spoke about it with a lot of people and didn't received a convincing response so far.