lichess.org
Donate

What does it take to beat a 2000?

Hiya, I'm Noobbatter, average rated 1700 in bullet/blitz/rapid. Here's a game I played some while back, and I want to request some human analysis. (I'm black) In addition, my rating has been stagnate for quite a long time. Does anyone know how to improve? Thanks :D
You played this blitz game in 7 minutes. How long are we supposed to analyse it?
Play more classical/rapid games. Analyze them deeply (maybe with a trainer). Are you in a club? That helps defenitely. Youre in a advanced level, maybe work on some new openings, perhaps getting an opening book. Game seems to be well played exept the end.
Good luck.
@HannHagen meh I'm too lazy to get a book :D I'm not in any clubs, have no trainers and have none of that good stuff. i started playing seriously just a year ago, and WOW i've gotten far. I'll just stay on lichess :P
You're a good player.

You have beaten 2000's before. If you want to do it more regularly, practice.

In that particular game the interference tactic doesn't work. Practice tactics with puzzles here on lichess. Study some opening tricks. Practice the endgame. Check for checks, threats and captures before every move. And play longer time controls so you have enough time to think if you're doing the right thing.
Preamble:
First thing: Play longer games, you'll never get good quality play out of a blitz game. Try rapid and even classical time controls. It'll give you time to think a little more, and it makes it more worthwhile to analyze. Now on to the real points.

Here are a few things that I (and some people I know) did to improve my (our) rating: