Free online Chess server. Play Chess now in a clean interface. No registration, no ads, no plugin required. Play Chess with the computer, friends or random opponents.
Play
Create a game Tournament Simultaneous exhibitions
Learn
Chess basics Puzzles Practice Coordinates Study Coaches
Watch
Lichess TV Current games Streamers Broadcasts (beta) Video library
Community
Players Teams Forum Questions & Answers
Tools
Analysis board Opening explorer Board editor Import game Advanced search
Sign in
Reconnecting

Why is it already a draw when I only moved 2 times the same move?

Asked by YellowKlash
Tags draw
Activity Viewed 198 times, last updated
1
Isn't it just at the 3rd move?
One answer
5
Answered by WildeWildsau
It is the same position that must occur three times, not necessarily the same moves.

And it does not have to be on immediately consecutive moves either. What I mean is, it could be the same position on moves 39, 42 and 48 and still be a draw by threefold repetition.

I am sure somebody would be happy to point out where the repetitions occurred in you concrete example, if you provide a link to the game.
YellowKlash commented :
Oh thank you, I didn't knew about the threefold repetition, but I find this rule quiet questionable.
WildeWildsau commented :
If it is this game
lichess.org/Mnx8ksNZ/black#77
you have the same position on moves 39, 41 and 43.

Only registered members with one week of lichess activity can contribute to the Q&A.