Free online Chess server. Play Chess now in a clean interface. No registration, no ads, no plugin required. Play Chess with the computer, friends or random opponents.
Sign in
Reconnecting

A bug in Atomic mode?

Asked by SeerThe
Tags lichess bug atomic
Activity Viewed 159 times, last updated
3
Good day!

In my recent game (lichess.org/fAlOhLVjJKse) at the end I get a checkmate (I think), which is not recognized by engine -- I found myself in a position where I cannot move any piece and game continues. I had to resign to finish it.

My question is, how do i report a bug? Or my judgement is flawed and I missed something?
One answer
4
Answered by Toadofsky
Black has a single legal move in that position, and a strong one at that!

5... Nxf2#
SeerThe commented :
But from Atomic rules I read "A checkmate is declared if a king is put in check, even if the king isn't immediately blown up, given that the king has no escape squares." How can I move knight while my king stays in check?
nobody22 commented :
If you are in checkmate, the bishop still has to make another move to get the king. If the knight moves to f2, then the king will be blown up on that move.

Only registered members with one week of lichess activity can contribute to the Q&A.