lichess.org
Donate

Topalov could’ve been up the exchange?

Ok so I’m quite new to chess but I’m getting the hang of the game and I saw something you might want to take a look concerning the 960 game between Topalov vs Wesley as I noticed something that I thought I want hear your guys take on this. At 28:13 the commentators start lambasting Topalov for his cxb4 move but to me that was a good move as I’m pretty sure Topalov should’ve gone for Nc6+ as his next move after Wesley played the move Nd5 (and strangely enough that possibility wasn’t even mentioned by the commentators). It opens up the diagonal for the bishop at a1 and it will also open up an attack at d7 with the pawn on c6 after he knight is exchanged with Bxc6 then bxc6, and from here dxc6 cant be played because of the pin on the knight after e4 i played. Black can play d6 to avoid the d7 threat but then simply go I think (perhaps a daring move Rd4 to protect from the Ne3 threat, as if Ne3 is played you can then play queen c5, capitalising on the fact that the pawn is pinned and can’t take the queen. From here it looks nasty for black. Topalov’s queenside castling was frowned upon, but in this case it would serve well in the attack as the c6 pawn is protected by the queen, so in my books it was sensible to have the queen on the c2 square to offer that protection, though if played incorrectly it could result in some nasty discoveries. So the attack from the c6 and the rook on d1 once the knight is forced to move couldn’t turn the game to white’s favour.