lichess.org
Donate

I have been stuck at 1400 in USCF rating for a few months, what should I do so I can improve?

For a few months, I have been stuck at 1400, witnessing everyone I know get to a higher point, or others who are lower get to my rating. I am not jealous of them, but I just want to be able to that to. For improving I am kind of clueless on what I should do, because right now my training consists of analyzing classics, doing tactics, playing practice games and analyzing my tournament games but I haven't seen substantial improvement from that. Instead I keep lingering at my current rating, and I want to get to 2000 by the end of this year. It may seem overly ambitious, but I am determined to do so. If you can suggest any books, areas to train on, or just general things I can do, please tell them to me, because I will do ANYTHING to become 2000 by the end of this year.
I’ve been studying for 19 years and just below 2000. It is a massive leap unless you played chess since 4 and one or both of your parents are grandmasters.

Looking for progress? Ask these questions..

1. How do you win (tactics, strategy, opening blunder etc..)
2. How do you lose games? The same ideas in the first question insert here ().

Being 2000 is a good goal for the future. I wish I would have cherished the great achievements I made rather than just trying for one rating point. It’s an empty feeling at the top. Also could you describe what attributes a 2000 player has vs a 1750 or 1400 player have?