Free online Chess server. Play Chess now in a clean interface. No registration, no ads, no plugin required. Play Chess with the computer, friends or random opponents.
Sign in
Reconnecting
  1.  Crazyhouse World Championship
  2. Forum
  3. Elite Crazyhouse Arena

A month ago on Discord @opperwezen suggested that it would be cool to have a strong ZH tournament. At the time it was Sunday and Elite SuperBlitz was being played on lichess. From there the idea began: could we have an Elite Crazyhouse Arena on a weekly basis?

https://i.imgur.com/bQnhdwK.png

As some of you may know, last weekend’s arena was first of its kind: lichess.org/tournament/nwQ3BNag. This weekend, on Saturday July 21st, the Elite Crazyhouse Arena is making its second appearance.

Date: July 21st, Saturday
Time: 19:00 GMT, 15:00 EST, 05:00 AEST (Sunday)
Time control: 3+1
Duration: 2 hours
Link: lichess.org/tournament/9yWiDXiy

Compared to last week, we’ve made few changes:
- moved it from Sunday to Saturday
- moved it from 17:00 GMT to 19:00 GMT
- changed the time control from 2+0 to 3+1.

Date and time changes are to make it more suitable for Australians. Another idea is to have it on 24:00 midnight in Sydney time, but that would be 8 AM PST; is the American West Coast willing to wake up that early for a game of crazyhouse? Probably not…

The third change, time control, is to give everyone a chance to enjoy the arena. Last week some said 2+0 is too quick for them, this week we want them to feel more welcome. The time control will most likely be rotated weekly. It is a good idea to use a different time control to see how it affects the turnout. To make it more versatile, alternating weeks of blitz and bullet is an option.

The discussion about the tournament specifications happened on Discord. However not every one of you is in the House server, therefore let’s use this thread to talk about options. What kind of Elite Crazyhouse Arena would be interesting for you to either play or watch? Mostly focus on rating, date, time and time control ideas, please.

Let your ideas Flourish!

Sincerely,
MMichael

"However not every one of you is in the House server"??? WHAT?! If you're not in the server, go the server nowww

This is a great idea @HouseDiscord

i made it in the screenshot, this is the biggest moment of my life. also, 1+0>all other tc

yes @Antic

I like 30 second better than 1 min :)

Was fun to be a part of it. Couldnt manage to beat much higher rated players, though was really close in some games. Still had a 38% winning rate, which is nice. Time to study till the next one :)

This week's arena (#3): lichess.org/tournament/l6iO9Ml1

The Lichess Titled Arena will be on Saturday August 4, so we will play on Sunday next week. After that we are switching back to Saturday.

#4 Sunday, Aug 5, 19:00 GMT, 15:00 EST, 12:00 PST (noon)
#5 Saturday, Aug 11, 19:00 GMT, 15:00 EST, 12:00 PST (noon)

@mmichael "let your ideas Flourish." I see what you did there ...

@Flourish Wasn't the first time ;) http://zhchess.blogspot.com/2018/03/2018-crazyhouse-world-championship.html