lichess.org

Draw instead of victory - wrong points reward

Hello, during a U1700 Rapid Arena Tournament, my opponent finished all his time (10 minutes) when I still had 02:02 min available. I don’t undestand why the result was a draw and not a victory for me. This way, I lost 2 points because I was in a winning streak. Does anyone have an explanation? The game is at this link: lichess.org/LZREZNQR

Hi Aiki2016,

I think the rule is that, if your opponent's time is completed, then you get the best the best possible result from any sequence of moves from that particular position. In this position, the best you can get is a draw. If you had a Rook, you would have won. Or else, even if you had an f pawn you could have won. Because, you can checkmate him with [W-Kg6, f7 & B-Kq8 & Qh8].

Hope this helps!

Hello Sethu,
thanks for the explanation, I didn’t know.
Bye

FIDE Laws of Chess:
"6.9 Except where one of the Articles: 5.1.a, 5.1.b, 5.2.a, 5.2.b, 5.2.c applies, if a player does not complete the prescribed number of moves in the allotted time, the game is lost by the player. However, the game is drawn, if the position is such that the opponent cannot checkmate the player’s king by any possible series of legal moves. "

Thank you tpr, there’s always something new to know

This topic has been archived and can no longer be replied to.

Reconnecting