Free online Chess server. Play Chess now in a clean interface. No registration, no ads, no plugin required. Play Chess with the computer, friends or random opponents.
Play
Create a gameTournamentSimultaneous exhibitions
Learn
Chess basicsPuzzlesPracticeCoordinatesStudyCoaches
Watch
Lichess TVCurrent gamesStreamersBroadcasts (beta)Video library
Community
PlayersTeamsForumQuestions & Answers
Tools
Analysis boardOpening explorerBoard editorImport gameAdvanced search
Sign in
Reconnecting

Lost on time, despite opponent cannot checkmate with king+knight

Asked by ln1973
Activity Viewed 133 times, last updated
1
Hi,
I think a position with a king+rook against king+knight should be valued a draw, when the time of the rook party runs out: According to rules, it is not sufficient to construct a 'helpmate' (what the knight party can do), but one needs to construct a position in which the other party is not able to prevent checkmate in the next move. This cannot be constructed by the knight party.
However, in my blitz game this was valued 0-1 (I played white), see link below. Could you please recheck it?
lichess.org/y1yDo9ms5HkE
Thanks
3 Answers
4
Answered by FoxKing
Black can deliver checkmate to white with the material on the board. Even though it is 'helpmate', black can put white in checkmate with legal moves. Therefore, black should be awarded the win.

FIDE Laws (Articles) of Chess: http://fide.com/fide/handbook.html?id=208&view=article

Since there's a legal sequence of moves that would lead to a checkmate, the game is a win for black.
3
Answered by CM Sarg0n
2
Answered by CM Sarg0n
Show the „rules“ please. Link?

Only registered members with one week of lichess activity can contribute to the Q&A.