Free online Chess server. Play Chess now in a clean interface. No registration, no ads, no plugin required. Play Chess with the computer, friends or random opponents.
Play
Create a game Tournament Simultaneous exhibitions
Learn
Chess basics Puzzles Practice Coordinates Study Coaches
Watch
Lichess TV Current games Streamers Broadcasts (beta) Video library
Community
Players Teams Forum Questions & Answers
Tools
Analysis board Opening explorer Board editor Import game Advanced search
Sign in
Reconnecting

Some kind of a bug or a rule I don't know about?

Asked by Kimura76
Tags en passant
Activity Viewed 83 times, last updated
1
On move 27 my opponent played e3 but the game didn't allow me to take his pawn en passant. I don't know why? What am I missing here?

1. e4 c5 2. d4 { B21 Sicilian Defense: Smith-Morra Gambit } cxd4 3. Qxd4 Nc6 4. Qd1 d6 5. Nc3 a6 6. Nf3 e6 7. Be3 Be7 8. Na4 Nf6 9. Nb6 Rb8 10. Nc4 Nxe4 11. Bd3 Nc5 12. Be2 O-O 13. a3 d5 14. Ncd2 Nd7 15. O-O Nf6 16. h3 e5 17. c3 Bd6 18. b4 b5 19. a4 Bc7 20. axb5 axb5 21. Nb3 Qd6 22. Bc5 Qd8 23. Bxf8 Qxf8 24. Nc5 Qd6 25. g3 Bxh3 26. Re1 e4 27. Nh2 e3 28. f4 Ne4 29. Nxe4 dxe4 30. Qxd6 Bxd6 31. Bg4 Ne7 32. Bxh3 { Black resigns. } 1-0
One answer
2
Answered by KingPaolo
You can only use En Passant if the player passes you when he normally wouldn't. So if he could've passed you using only one square ( Even though he went two squares ahead ) then you can't use it. Hopefully this clears it up a bit?
Kimura76 commented :
The bug was in my head obviously , I don't know why this confused me at that moment. I just looked at the game again and I realized what a moron I am. Hard to believe from this perspective but I in fact know how en passant works.
Thank you and sorry for wasting your time.

Only registered members with one week of lichess activity can contribute to the Q&A.