Free online Chess server. Play Chess now in a clean interface. No registration, no ads, no plugin required. Play Chess with the computer, friends or random opponents.
Play
Create a game Tournament Simultaneous exhibitions
Learn
Chess basics Puzzles Practice Coordinates Study Coaches
Watch
Lichess TV Current games Streamers Broadcasts (beta) Video library
Community
Players Teams Forum Questions & Answers
Tools
Analysis board Opening explorer Board editor Import game Advanced search
Sign in
Reconnecting

run out of time having pawn king my opponent had knight king thus no win condition. when my time expired he won. isn't this against the rules?

Asked by themissss
Activity Viewed 149 times, last updated
-2
it is written in english
5 Answers
3
Answered by LM mysterious_expert
No, because your opponent can checkmate you with a knight and king
checkmate3141 commented :
Wouldn't that only be with a rook pawn one square from queening?
3
Answered by ChEsSmAgEdDoN
To answer your question @themissss : It does not matter whether your pawn was on the outside or the inside as you can see in this mini-study I have created to show they can win against a rook, knight or bishop. I hope this helped.

The study: lichess.org/study/IaZr8pqB
3
Answered by Goke09
ChEsSmAgEdDoN commented :
Yep that's the correct link. I created a study as well to outline when the pawn isn't on the outside.
-2
Answered by Goke09
No its not against the rules. Look at this: lichess.org/editor
checkmate3141 commented :
How is that link helpful?
Goke09 commented :
What? Something happened I put the position in
-2
Answered by Goke09
This is the correct link (I hope) lichess.org/analysis/8/8/8/8/8/6k1/5n1P/7K_w_KQkq_-
ChEsSmAgEdDoN commented :
The position is wrong because the pawn is going the wrong way, and for that to be checkmate the black knight and king would need to be swapped.
Goke09 commented :
oh yeah that is true

Only registered members with one week of lichess activity can contribute to the Q&A.