Yes, but it doesn't turn the situation to complete opposite. I just had a game in which I had a knight and two passed, connected pawns, opponent had a knight. Luckily my opp didn't know the rules here and I let him eat my pawns and the knight, otherwise he would have beaten me on time. My pawns were developing and soon to be promoted but I had to sacrifice them and my knight too to get rid of the "theoretical selfmate." Advantage you've fought for and achieved becomes a burden you'll want to get rid of asap. It's different from having a lonely rook against an armada yet winning on time, because it's not the armada that makes the opponent lose, but he loses INSTEAD of it. Not because of it.