Free online Chess server. Play Chess now in a clean interface. No registration, no ads, no plugin required. Play Chess with the computer, friends or random opponents.
Create a gameTournamentSimultaneous exhibitions
Chess basicsPuzzlesPracticeCoordinatesStudyCoaches
Lichess TVCurrent gamesStreamersBroadcasts (beta)Video library
PlayersTeamsForumQuestions & Answers
Analysis boardOpening explorerBoard editorImport gameAdvanced search
Sign in

my opponent had time out, but 1/2 -1/2 point ?

Asked by Rz-Daf
Activity Viewed 195 times, last updated
I just had a game with an opponent. he had time out. but I did not receive the points,
as we both had a draw?
is there something here I don't know?

any input would be welcomed
Luciano_the_best commented :
Could you send the link of the game pls?
3 Answers
Answered by BeastModeUnknown
If you have insufficient amount of material to checkmate your opponent, but he runs out of time. It is a draw. If you had sufficient amount of checkmate material you win the match for he has run out of time.
Answered by youarecheckmate
maybe you hadnt enough material to checkmate him
hope i could help you, if not write a private messgae, plz
Answered by Rz-Daf
That sounds hardly fair as time is time. at least in official competition.
but if that's the rule good to know. thank you for your answers!

Only registered members with one week of lichess activity can contribute to the Q&A.