lichess.org

Wrong match result

Hi,

I played a match where the only piece I had left was the king.
I managed to reach a position where I was about to capture the opponent's last piece, and draw the game, but he resigned before I had the chance to do it.
I was surprised by the match result. I won.. but it doesn't make any sense. I didn't have enough material to win, so it should have been a draw!
Just like if my opponent would have ran out of time.

This is the game I played: lichess.org/dpotDZkVoPU7

If you agree this is a bug, and should have been a draw, please fix it, and give my opponent the half point he deserved!

I believe this is in fact legal, though I cannot fathom why anyone would resign a bullet game with an extra pawn and two seconds more on the clock.

Lichess doesn’t have to follow FIDE necessarily. But even there it is conceivable.

Article 5: The completion of the game
5.1.1
The game is won by the player who has checkmated his opponent’s king. This immediately ends the game, provided that the move producing the checkmate position was in accordance with Article 3 and Articles 4.2 – 4.7.
5.1.2 The game is won by the player whose opponent declares he resigns. This immediately ends the game.
5.2.1 The game is drawn when the player to move has no legal move and his king is not in check. The game is said to end in ‘stalemate’. This immediately ends the game, provided that the move producing the stalemate position was in accordance with Article 3 and Articles 4.2 – 4.7.
5.2.2 The game is drawn when a position has arisen in which neither player can checkmate the opponent’s king with any series of legal moves. The game is said to end in a ‘dead position’. This immediately ends the game, provided that the move producing the position was in accordance with Article 3 and Articles 4.2 – 4.7.
5.2.3 The game is drawn upon agreement between the two players during the game , provided both players have made at least one move. This immediately ends the game.

(Only!?) in case of a time-out:

Except where one of Articles 5.1.1, 5.1.2, 5.2.1, 5.2.2, 5.2.3 applies, if a player does not complete the prescribed number of moves in the allotted time, the game is lost by thatplayer. However, the game is drawn if the position is such that the opponent cannot checkmate the player’s king by any possible series of legal moves.

First of all, thanks for you answers!

Still, I think it makes no sense to be declared winner (no matter if your opponent runs out of time, resigns or has no more material to be able to checkmate you) as long as you don't have enough material to checkmate your opponent.

Don't you guys agree?

#4 I do not agree. A player may resign for any reason provided that the game is not already over, and the wishes of that player are to be respected.

Maybe white was disgusted with how they threw away the win and wanted to punish themselves with a loss.

Anyway, a player should be allowed resign whenever they want,even in such positions, which will be one-in-a-million occasions.

@Toadofsky, chess should be based on logical rules!
It makes no sense to be called a winner if you lost all your abilities to win.

The moment you resign, you lose your right to win, BUT that doesn't offer your opponent an automatic win.
His score should be decided based on his state and his ability to do something.

I give you a real life example so you can see an analogy:
Imagine that you fight in a war and you resign. Basically this means that you let your opponent decide what to do with you!
- If he CAN do something, he basically won.
- If he CAN'T do anything because he has no powers left, the NOBODY WON! In this case, your resign only means that you ceased to fight for a win! It doesn't mean you lose anything!

@Sarg0n in your example the black would win because he has enough material on the board to be able to deliver checkmate.

For the record, in #8 if the white flag falls after 1. ... Qb7+ it is draw. Black has no way to checkmate, in fact he will be mated by force.

White resigns: 0-1
White time-out: draw

In principle very much the same as #1. ;)

Reconnecting