Why was this a draw?

3 fold repetition of the position after moves 32, 34, 36

No, it is three, exactly as described by #2. It is not important that the moves between the identical positions were different (also it could be more moves between the repeated position). The only thing that matters is that the same position with the same player’s turn occurs three times. Note: Same position = same moves available. So if in one of the positions a player can castle or take e.p. and the next time they cannot it is considered a new position.

You can't post in the forums yet. Play some games!