lichess.org

Rule of touched piece

There is no paragraph on what happens if you make the move stop the clock call for arbiter that you demand draw based on 3-fold repetition and opponent has not made the move after that. If am called as arbiter to situation I would still required to make a call. In my case get the tournament chief arbiter but if the boad stand is position that has been repeated 3 times then the ruling would be a draw. Well at least according to the IA who is also the arbiter trainer of Finland and member of rules committee of FIDE, so that is most likely the correct ruling.

Anyway no system of rules is totally complete. People tend ways to produce odd situations no matter how you write them down. At some point arbiter has just interpret intent of the rules. This particular paragrah was added to avoid disputes on this kinda situations.

If you make a move you don’t have the move. Your opponent has though...

Moreover:

9.4 If the player touches a piece as in Article 4.3 without having claimed the draw he loses the right to claim, as in Article 9.2 or 9.3, on that move.

PS: Any draw claim is a draw offer so your opponent is entitled to accept. But if he wants to play on you jettisoned your precious(?) chance by moving.

Yeah this all just confirms what I assumed was the case when I brought up arbitration a few months ago:

1. There have been tens of thousands of hours of argument, debate, and discussion regarding an ever-evolving book of chess policy inside tournament halls alone, much less the hundreds of thousands of hours in the greater chess world.

2. There have been thousands upon thousands of technical 'hiccups' that question the efficacy of the established rule-set as it's evolved.

3. Before playing in a tournament, I will write out my understanding of the 10 most likely "Could Happen To You" moments and have some of the Lichess experts make sure that my understanding is complete in those areas, and maybe offer their own suggestions as well.



It is a bit nerve-racking to think that I could be DQd somehow on a technicality.

In my opinion, players should be insulated from that kind of a thing under the exact same spirit behind the "Chess > Clock" justification; but at the same time, I can appreciate the need for structure as evidenced in the above paragraphs.


Maybe a "Top 10 Things to Always Remember and Never To Do" thread might be a productive idea?

"If you make a move you don’t have the move. Your opponent has though..." you still have move as long as you have not pressed the clock.

No, #34, exactly the opposite. The opponent has the move and is allowed to move. I have explained it about 100 times.

Strictly speaking, after making a move you are not allowed to offer draw, adjust, and so on.

9.1.2.1 A player wishing to offer a draw shall do so after having made a move on the chessboard and before pressing his clock.

You must make your move before offering a draw. Move is completed only after pressing the clock. Also adjusting after making a move is sometimes required. One must have pieces on squares before pressing the clock. Mostly a blitz issue. obviously. But as rules state all misplaces pieces must be put back in right places before pressing a clock it also indicates you are allowed to do so.

Agreed, but having made your move the opponent has the move, regardless of the clock.

#1 looks like „move executed“ which means the opponent has the move according to the rules. But not completed move. Any arbiter will confirm the following:

May sound strange to you but perfectly legal:

A moves, B (counter)moves, A completes his move, B completes his move by pressing the clock.

Which would bring yet a another funny situation. Yes opponent can move but as long as clock has not been presses the player a coudl adjust pieces - at least clearly fallen but-
Player A makes his move
Player A makes a draw offer
Simultaneously Player B makes his move prior to understanding that draw offer has been and as soon as has made his move accepts the draw offer
Then Player B accepts the offer, but player thinks the move player B made was bad and says that offer was rejected when player B touched his piece

Obvioulsy A is right but this just sort of situation that can happen and arbiter called. Though in tournament with adults classic time limits I rarely need arbitrate anything during a round or sometimes none during the 5 round tournament. With kids no 15 minutes without something

Having moved

-your opponent has the move
-hence you are not allowed to adjust

Forget about the clock.

You can't post in the forums yet. Play some games!

Reconnecting