lichess.org

Rule of touched piece

If you touch your piece, make a move by capturing your opponents piece, place it down on the board and lift up your opponents piece, still holding your opponents piece in the hand, is the move then done? s it possible to still for example to change your mind and chose another piece that you want to capture the piece with instead?

Strictly speaking, when you capture a piece, you first take that piece off the board and then place your piece on that square. Once you touch the captured piece, you must capture it. If it's impossible, you can make another move.

Touch-move, touch-take. Unless the move is illegal you cannot change it.

It is not *complete* until you have pressed the clock, but you cannot play something different.

Thanks for super quick answer.

So if i understand it correclty:

When you touch your oppoents piece, this has to be captured.
When you then touch your piece(that you want to capture with), this has to be the piece you move no mather what. No changing of mind what so ever :)

Yes - once you deliberately touch the opponents piece, you *must* take it if you can.

If you then subsequently deliberately touch one of your own pieces, if it can make the capture you *must* use that piece to make the capture.

The exception is if the move would be illegal - the touch-move rules do not compel you to play an illegal move.

If I take a piece, can I think several minutes before choosing the piece that capture ? In that case, is it a lack of fair-play ?

#1 looks like „move executed“ which means the opponent has the move according to the rules. But not completed move.

May sound strange to you but perfectly legal:

A moves, B (counter)moves, A completes his move, B completes his move by pressing the clock.

For example #1 is mate the game is over provided a legal move has been made.

PS: disturbing the opponent can be punished. If my opponent „levitates“ pieces I let the arbiter have a closer look.

@Thengel I think that would be fine - if you picked up their piece, and in doing so realised that your planned capture was not as good as you thought. You could then place their piece back on the square, and think for several minutes while you worked out which was the best capture.

I think if you moved their piece off the board while thinking, or held it in your hand for several minutes, it could reasonably be judged as distracting the opponent though.

Let me add to this thread an arbitration puzzle.

The position is K+Q vs K+P with the side with K+Q to move. The player with the queen reaches out and touches the opponent's pawn with the intention of taking it with the queen (which is the only legal way to capture the pawn). After he has touched the pawn but before he has taken it, his flag falls.

What result?

Has the position changed by a regular move? That answers your question. Touching is not moving.

There are even harder puzzles with incomplete castlings and promotions...

Reconnecting