not sure of the rules

Move 12 of this game :
I'm not sure why i'm allowed to castle in this position whereas in some other games where a piece of my opponent is inteferring i can't ;) Thanks guys!

The rook may move through an attacked square, provided the king does not. The only such square is the one adjacent to the rook, when castling queenside.

There are a billion games played and you think there is an elementary bug?

Suggestion: read the FIDE rules, it is explained clearly. Castling is prevented temporarily: if the square on which the king stands, or the square which it must cross, or the square which it is to occupy, is attacked by one or more of the opponent's pieces, or if there is any piece between the king and the rook with which castling is to be effected.

Oh ok it's nice to know thanks man i learned something new

I didn't say that i thought it was a bug i just didn't know in which case we can castle or not

It might be a little off topic but having a beginner thread pinned to ask simple question or questions about subtelties of chess (and chess variants) might be good to not polluate sections and to not open your own topic , have a good day guys and thanks again for the quick answer :)


But at the end of the day, feel free to ask a question if in the forum if something is puzzling you. Some degree of repetitiveness is to be expected, but those asking questions should make use of the linked resources and the search feature at the upper right-hand corner of any forum page.