lichess.org

I'm pretty sure this is a draw

If a player has only a king and his opponent has a rook and a king but his clock runs out it is a draw, right, since the lone king can not force checkmate.

For that matter, a player must have a possible position where checkmate can be achieved or sufficient mating material in order to checkmate in order to win if his opponent runs out of time, right?,

Fide rules state that if a player has sufficient material to checkmate but his clock runs out, while his opponent has insufficient material then it is a draw. Hope this helps.

#1, right. Exception: for example KxR is only move with a draw (FIDE, but it is loss here on lichess due to technical issues).

That‘s why a lone Bishop doesn’t win against Queens, Rooks and Bishops of the same color, even if everything is on the board.

You can't post in the forums yet. Play some games!

Reconnecting