IRL chess games you cannot put a piece on a wrong square unintentionally.
Here, you can.
So, actually, it's like in a IRL game that a piece slips from your hand, lands correctly on a square, you don't want to and your opponent says "HA! TOO LATE!"
It's the very same thing.
People hiding behind this fact are the real unfair ones :)
There are other online platforms in which there is no undo. You can go and play there.
as to your question...i have asked for a takeback in rated games, but i also have let people take their move back. the problem is that if you let people take their move back. you might have just given up a winning position and possibly the game.
so yes. the person who lets the takeback occur is putting themselfs in possible danger of losing the game
So you confirm me that you choose to win a game in an unfair way exploiting an unwanted mistake than to have a regular chess game?
Can I at least say that I find it despicable?
Since you bring up IRL games: The situation there is a little different. There, you have to push the clock to confirm that you have completed your move. After that, you cannot ask for "handslip" takebacks either during your opponents turn, can you?
Aaaaaand, how conveniently, the same thing exists in online chess too! It's called move confirmation (duh). Why not use that instead of morally attacking people who don't want to be disturbed by your own mistakes?
In IRL game, the rules I play, there are three golden rules.
1) If you touch a piece, and you can move it, you must.
2) If you touch an opponent's piece and you can take it, you must.
3) If you land a piece, and the square is legit, the move is done.
Then if you wait pushing the clock that's just your problem.
The move cannot be undone, if not by your opponent's granting it.
We are not talking about legit moves here, we are talking about the situation where you drop a piece on an unintended square. IRL, your move is not over yet and you may* correct it (of course you can still only move the piece you touched) and only then press your clock, thereby confirming that this was the move you intended to play. After this point, you will never, ever be granted a takeback in any serious IRL tournament, either!
Online, it's the same thing, as long as you have move confirmation enabled.
If you don't, well, then the step of pressing the clock will be done automatically, and after that, your move counts as confirmed as well. There is no difference to the IRL situation - you have zero right for a takeback at this point.
This is the price you pay for saving time by not having to press the clock yourself - you have to be precise with your mouse. Crying for both advantages is not respectable.
*your opponent may still dispute that the "slip" was unintentional
IRL if you drop a piece on an unintend legal square, your move is over.
"If you let go of a piece you have to leave it there".
This is a common basic rule and it's in every single international tournament.
I am very curious about the tournaments you've plaied until now.
I have takebacks disabled, will I go to hell?
Interesting that you are so strict about the rules all of a sudden.
This admittedly is a grey area that is not explicitly handled in the rules. But *usually*, opponents (and arbiters) will allow you to correct your move if it really clearly was unintentional (someone hitting you on the head during your move etc.) AND you have not pressed the clock yet.
However, clock pressed = move over, period.
And that was my actual point: You will not get takebacks during your opponent's time IRL. Thanks for reinforcing that yourself!
You kinda dodged the suggestion of using move confirmation though. If you are so concerned about mouseslips, this is the solution. A solution that only depends on you and does not burden your opponent to spend THEIR thinking time pondering your inability to properly move your pieces (hey, you ignored that one as well).