So, I just played this. In the final seconds black took my last pawn, leaving K+B vs K+B, meaning neither side can win. Then I timed out. But why did the computer think I lost? (Anyway, I thought bullet rules said you need to have sufficient material to mate to win...)
Opposite-colored bishops: either side can checkmate. It's a helpmate in 6 moves (last moves 62. Ka8 Kc6 63. Bd4 Bd5 64. Ba7 Kc7#). And you could have checkmated him in 4 moves.
Ah OK, it's like in the Carlsen vs. Firouzja match. Thanks for clarifying that!
it is a draw, was even a draw with pawns
#4 time-out = loss @frankapalooza
ok... it's a draw in classical class, but a computer can't recognize a drawn position...
hence, here the game continues until time out, and a loss
It would have been a loss in classical chess as well as IM Josh Friedel lost Rook versus Knight in Bavaria. He learned the rules the hard way.
ok.. without time control, it's a draw
Who plays without time control?
However, in time controles with increment, it will indeed soon end in a draw (either 3-fold repetition or 50 moves). It still is not an automatic one (online, otb one could call the arbiter).
i guess this is the point the original poster was making.......
from the position.. it's a draw