lichess.org

Why is this not a draw?

lichess.org/LOhzM2QR/white

So, I just played this. In the final seconds black took my last pawn, leaving K+B vs K+B, meaning neither side can win. Then I timed out. But why did the computer think I lost? (Anyway, I thought bullet rules said you need to have sufficient material to mate to win...)

Ah OK, it's like in the Carlsen vs. Firouzja match. Thanks for clarifying that!

@Sarg0n


ok... it's a draw in classical class, but a computer can't recognize a drawn position...
hence, here the game continues until time out, and a loss

It would have been a loss in classical chess as well as IM Josh Friedel lost Rook versus Knight in Bavaria. He learned the rules the hard way.

@frankapalooza

@frankapalooza
Who plays without time control?

However, in time controles with increment, it will indeed soon end in a draw (either 3-fold repetition or 50 moves). It still is not an automatic one (online, otb one could call the arbiter).

i guess this is the point the original poster was making.......

from the position.. it's a draw

Reconnecting